- What applications you're using (Tweetdeck/Eventbrite)
- Games and application activity
- Information accessible through your friends (Places)
- Instant personalisation (Facebook connect)
- Public search (Bing/Google)
Once you have selected option 3 highlighted with the red arrow you are shown a pop-up window with the privacy settings. All your Facebook information available is available to any applications, games and websites when friends choose to use them, so its important to limit what information Facebook obviously advises you to share more information to make the experience more social, but that's not always advised. Consider if you really need to share all the following information with everyone, but you will want to ensure that the "Places I check into" setting is unchecked and then click to save changes.That's done you now know more about how Facebook Places works, how it might affect you and how to disable it so you reduce the risks exposed with sharing too much information online, and go back to using FourSquare or Gowalla. Think twice before electing to share your every step and visit even if there is a slight benefit for your social circles and not everyone cares to know what you are doing at every moment of the day!